Traffic Safety Commission

§ 17-12. Traffic Safety Commission.
[Amended 9-4-2012 by Ord. No. 1323; 11-7-2012 by Ord. No. 1328]
  1. How constituted. The Commission shall consist of seven members, composed of four citizen members, one Alderperson, the Police Chief (or his or her designee) and the Fire Chief (or his or her designee).
  2. Appointment; terms.
    1. The Fire Chief and the Police Chief shall be members by virtue of their offices, and such membership shall not be delegated.
    2. There shall be one citizen member at large and one citizen member from each aldermanic district. The terms shall be staggered four-year terms.
    3. The Alderperson shall be the permanent Chairman of the Commission; in the event of his/her absence, the balance of the Commission members may select a temporary Chairman at each meeting.
  3. Powers and duties; compensation; rules.
    1. The Traffic Safety Commission shall make recommendations to the Common Council regarding the placement of or removal of traffic signs and signals and the placement of school crossing guards, but not cadets, and shall perform such other duties as directed by the Common Council from time to time.
    2. The members of the Commission shall serve without compensation. The Common Council may authorize necessary and proper expenses.
    3. Except as otherwise herein provided, the Commission shall establish written rules and procedures for the conduct of its business. The Commission shall keep a record of its proceedings and shall appoint a Secretary for that purpose from among its members.